Main Content

Set MATLAB Projects Preferences

You can set MATLAB® projects preferences to specify project definition files type, detect project files shadowed by open models, and detect project-wide references when renaming, removing and deleting files.

On the Home tab, in the Environment section, click Preferences. Select MATLAB > Project. Then, adjust preference options as described in this table. Not all project preferences are available in MATLAB Online™.

PreferenceUsage
New Projects

To specify where to create new projects, in Default folder, browse to a folder on your system.

To specify the Project definition files type for new projects, select an option based on your use case:

  • Use multiple project files (fixed path length) is preferable if you need to work with long paths (default).

  • Use multiple project files helps to avoid merging issues on shared projects.

  • Use a single project file (not recommended for source control) is fast but likely causes merge issues when two users submit changes in the same project to a source control tool.

For details, see Project Definition Files.

The Project definition folder, relative to the project root, is used to store the project metadata files. Select one of the available options to specify the folder name.

To open the project welcome page after you create a new project, select Show the welcome dialog after new project creation.

Project Startup

To receive a warning about files shadowed by open models when opening a project, select Detect project files shadowed by open models.

For details, see Manage Shadowed and Dirty Models and Other Project Files.

Project Shutdown

To receive a warning about files with unsaved changes when closing a project, select Interrupt project close if there are dirty project files.

To automatically close project models when closing a project unless the project models contain unsaved changes, select Check for open project models and close them, unless they are dirty.

File Management

To disable the message that lists which files have changed after calling update to get the latest revisions from your SVN repository, clear Show changes on source control updates.

To disable automatic updates when renaming, deleting, or removing files in a project, clear Detect project-wide references when renaming, removing and deleting files.

For details, see Manage Project Files.

To disable the project prompt and analysis when renaming buses or bus elements while keeping automatic updates enabled for other files, clear Detect project-wide references when renaming Simulink buses and bus elements.

This option is only available if you have Simulink® installed.

To specify what happens when you attempt to modify Read-only project files, select an option based on your use case:

  • Ask when a read-only project file needs to be modified (default)

  • Set writable using the file system

  • Checkout using source control

When opening a file, you can have a project check for conflict markers that the source control tool inserted. This check helps identify conflicted files and offers a fix to rescue binary files, such as SLX files, from corruption.

To choose what files a project should check for conflict markers, specify Conflict marker detection when loading project files. Select one of the available options:

  • Only check conflicted files (default)

  • Check all files

  • Never check files

Warnings

Calling SVN update to get the latest revision overwrites all of your files. To receive a warning before overwriting the files, select Warn about updating from source control.

To receive a warning when you perform an action that a project cannot reverse, select Warn when performing an action that the project cannot undo.

For example, a project cannot undo extracting a folder to a referenced project.

Only one project can be open at a time. To receive a warning that the current project will close when you open a reference project as a top-level project, select Warn when opening a project reference that the current project will be closed.

To receive a warning when you remove a reference to another project, select Warn when removing references to another project.

Logging

To save the Java stack trace in a log file whenever project shows an error dialog, select Log errors.

To save project action messages, such as how long shortcuts take to start up, select Log messages.

To specify where to store your projects log files, in Log folder, browse to a folder on your system.

Related Topics